Popular Story Top News 

3 Student Leaders of ABVP Resign Over JNU Issue

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad 3 Student Leaders Resign Over Jawaharlal Nehru University Events

Pradeep Narwal, one of the resigned ABVP members, posted on Facebook “We, Pradeep, joint secretary, ABVP, JNU unit, Rahul Yadav, president, SSS (School of Social Sciences), ABVP, and Ankit Hans, Secretary, SSS, ABVP, are resigning from ABVP and disassociating ourselves from any further activity of ABVP as per our difference of opinion.”

He gave the reasons as the “current JNU incident” and “longstanding difference of opinion with party on Manusmriti and Rohith Vemula incident”.

The Facebook post said: “Anti-national slogans on February 9 in the university campus were very unfortunate and heart breaking.

Whoever is responsible for that act must be punished as per the law. But the way the NDA government is tackling the whole issue, the oppression on professors, repeated lawyer attacks on media and Kanhaiya Kumar in court premises is unjustifiable… We think there is a difference between interrogation and crushing ideology and branding entire Left as anti-national.”

“We can’t be the mouthpiece of such a government which has unleashed oppression on the student community, legislature (sic) like O P Sharma, government which has legitimised the action of right wing fascist forces, either in Patiala House Court or in front of JNU North Gate,” it said.

JNUSU joint secretary from ABVP,Saurabh Sharma, said: “We haven’t received any resignation letter till now. These three are our new activists… who became office-bearers after the last unit conference in July-August 2015. Most of the teachers supporting JNUSU are from the School of Social Sciences, so perhaps these activists took this decision keeping their careers in mind.”



(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts

Leave a Comment